FacebookTwitterEmailPrintFriendly分享The raise in Alaska’s minimum wage could affect what the state’s school bus drivers are paid, based on a previous law passed in 1989. Alaskans approved Ballot Measure 3 in November’s general election which will increase minimum wage by $1.00 per hour starting February 24, 2015 and another dollar to $9.75 per hour January 1, 2016. The state’s minimum wage has remained $7.75 per hour since 2009, meaning school bus drivers have received at least $15.50 per hour over the last five years. Home to School bus drivers are contracted by the district’s transportation provider First Student and their contracts will not expire until June 30, 2017. The Kenai Peninsula Borough School District’s activity bus drivers are considered part-time like substitute teachers and they will take the wage increase request to the School Board after February 24. That law requires school bus drivers to be paid at least twice the amount of minimum wage, however the law does not require employers to increase wages mid-way through a contract.