CM to expand ministry today

first_imgKolkata: The Mamata Banerjee government will witness an expansion on Thursday with four new faces being inducted into it.The new ministers will be sworn in during a function at Raj Bhavan at 1.30 pm. Governor K N Tripathi will conduct the oath of secrecy. Four MLAs who are likely to become ministers are Tapas Roy, Sujit Bose, Ratna Ghosh and Dr Nirmal Maji. Once these MLAs are inducted, the number will go up to 44. Four ministers have been dropped since the second term of the TMC in office after winning the 2016 Assembly elections. They are Sovan Chatterjee, Abani Joardar, James Kujur and Chudamani Mahato. Also Read – Rain batters Kolkata, cripples normal lifeThe decision to expand the ministry is to reduce the burden on some ministers and better the functioning of the state government. For example, Firhad Hakim looks after the Urban Development and Municipal Affairs department along with Fire and Emergency Services. He is also the Mayor. Moloy Ghatak looks after Law, Labour and Public Health Engineering departments. Aroop Biswas also looks after three departments, namely Sports, Youth Affairs and Public Works (PWD) Department. Sukumar Hansda is likely to be appointed as the Deputy Speaker in the West Bengal Legislative Assembly which fell vacant following the death of Haider Aziz Safwi. Also Read – Speeding Jaguar crashes into Mercedes car in Kolkata, 2 pedestrians killedTo improve the administrative work of the respective departments, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee has been holding regular administrative review meetings in the districts since she came to power in 2011. These meetings give an opportunity to the officials working in the districts to interact with the Chief Minister and other senior bureaucrats directly including the Chief Secretary which helps to resolve local issues. Also, the MLAs get a chance to talk to the Chief Minister over the ongoing projects and place their demands if any. If they are justified, Banerjee is often found taking up immediate measures and on many occasions, has asked the concerned Principal Secretary or the Additional Chief Secretary to resolve the matter. Of the four MLAs likely to be inducted, Tapas Roy, MLA from Baranagar is the deputy chief whip. He is associated with the government functioning for many years. Sujit Bose, MLA from Salt Lake, is well known for his organisational capabilities while Nirmal Maji is the president of the State Medical Council and chairman of Rogi Kalyan Samity of Calcutta Medical College and Hospital. In the next three years, there will be three elections. The Lok Sabha election will be held in 2019 followed by the Kolkata Municipal Corporation (KMC) polls in 2020 and then the Assembly election in 2021. Hence, the Chief Minister is leaving no stone unturned and wants to complete all the pending work on time.last_img

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.